From the crib to the Clubman

One of my favorite things to share with people is that my ever-growing love for cars is something I’ve had since I was in diapers.

I will always remember my earliest interactions with automobiles. My older brother would crawl into my crib in the wee hours of the morning with as many matchbox cars as his little fingers could grasp, make roads out of blanket creases, and race the cars around with me. He made waking up more fun and introduced me to the industry I want to work in. God blessed me with an awesome brother.

As I grew, I became extremely observant. Memorizing the makes and models of cars I saw every day became a hobby and a fun guessing game to pass the time. Whenever a car was approaching us on the opposite side of the road, I would glance at it, close my eyes, and try to come up with the make and model before seeing if I was right. At night, the rules were the same, but the game became more difficult because the only clues I had were headlight shapes and designs. Over the years, I became very good at recognition. That little game helped the seed for my car curiosity to grow even more.

After watching The Italian Job (2003), I immediately developed a strong interest in Mini. The Mini Cooper Clubman became my dream car, so I never even imagined that I’d have one as my first car! Introducing Harvey Oliver Clubmanthe 2009 Clubman S. (The middle name refers to the U.K. Top Gear host Richard Hammond’s 1963 Opel Kadett that he named “Oliver”. Any similarities to my first name are merely coincidental).

Harvey Oliver Clubman: 2009 Mini Cooper Clubman S

 Driving Harvey is the equivalent to driving a street-legal go-kart. Every drive is exciting, never getting old.

“Everybody should drive a Mini. Everybody should own a Mini at some point or you are incomplete as a human being.”  – James May, Top Gear U.K.

Right now, I’m working on educating myself on the mechanics of the automobile. Last semester, I took an automotive repair class where I learned a great deal about proper car maintenance and engine components. I have a long way to go, but I look forward to the road God has paved for me!

Leave a comment